If your child is over the age of 5, they can get themselves a drink from the kitchen and a snack from the pantry. Sure, they might make some spills and leave some crumbs, but they can do it. And guess what? They can clean up a spill and sweep up the crumbs too. I've seen parents of 16 year olds get up and go prepare their whining teenager a soda or perhaps a bowl of cereal, and it absolutely makes me want to puke. For the love of Pete, WHY do some parents insist on coddling their children? Does this bother anybody else but me?
I have to wonder why any parent would do this. It isn't showing an extreme love for your child and you won't win any awards. You are doing your child a disservice by creating a sense of entitlement and an inability to take care of themselves. I've known teenage girls that have gone off to college without the ability to wash a load of clothes or boil water for pasta. Does this coddling parent have some sort of guilt? Or is it simply a stereotypical holdover from the idea of smothering mothering from the 50's? I simply don't understand it, and it frustrates me. What I also find obnoxious is that many of these kids with mothers that practically hold their penises when they pee, are some of the rudest kids you'll ever meet. They are demanding, whiny, childish and unpleasant to be around. They are inconsiderate to not only their parents, but to all adults, disrespectful of property and seem to act as if the whole world owes them whatever whims they desire. I think it comes from a direct disgust at their parent for being coddled. A parent who does everything for their child is saying to them, "You are not capable of doing things for yourself." And who likes to feel that way? Of course these kids will be angry. Of course they will be frustrated. Of course they will enter into a world full of false expectations and have to learn on their own the basic skills for living, which should have been taught to them all along...
No comments:
Post a Comment